Council of Senior Advisors

Print PDF
The Council of Senior Advisors of the IAUP is composed of internationally distinguished leaders from the educational sector, the business world or the government sector, who actively support the causes for which IAUP stand. Members are appointed by the IAUP President and

  • Provide advice to IAUP on the association’s strategic plans and how to implement them successfully.
  • Provide their views on how universities can collaborate better with industry, government and society in general.
  • Give their advice on how universities can provide better global understanding and competency.


Mr. Kenneth Brier, U.S.A.
Chairman and president, Sealord LCC and Sealord Holdings, Inc. A colonel in the U.S. Army Reserves, Brier received the Bronze Star Medal for service in Operation Dessert Storm. He holds an M.P.A. from Harvard University and served in the office of the assistant secretary of defense at the Pentagon as a counterterrorism officer.

Dr. Mark P. Campbell, U.S.A.
Mark Campbell is Senior Director of Strategic Global Initiatives for IAUP.  He previously served as Vice President for the Council for Adult and Experiential Learning (CAEL), and as a high-level political strategist and national campaign consultant.  He also has experience in the Academy as a Senior Vice-President of Government and Community Affairs.

Mr. Darryl Courtney-O'Connor, Australia
Executive Director & Founder, International College of Management, Sydney; Constellation Hotels Executive Chairman; former Executive Chairman of Touraust Corporation

Mr. Ramu Damodaran, India
Director, United Nations Academic Impact (UNAI), Department of Public Information, United Nations Secretariat; Deputy Director for Partnerships and Public Engagement, UN-DPI; former Chief of its Civil Society Service, UN-DPI;

Mr. Ted A. Drauschak, U.S.A.
President Broadlands Financial Group, LLC, a global program and construction risk management company specializing in renewable energy. He is a member of the American Society of Civil Engineers, the National Society of Professional Engineers, the Society of American Military Engineers, and the Urban Land Institute.

Mr. Enan Galaly, Denmark
Founder and chairman of Helnan International Hotels. In addition to his outstanding career as a hotelier, Galaly has been distinguished as "Knight of Dannebrog" by the Kingdom of Denmark. He has served IAUP as a senior advisor since 2000.

Dr. Allan E. Goodman, U.S.A.

President and CEO, Institute of International Education; previously, he was Executive Dean of the School of Foreign Service and Professor at Georgetown University; author of books on international affairs published by Harvard, Princeton and Yale University Presses and Diversity in Governance, published by the American Council on Education.

Dr. Bill Graves, USA
Senior Vice President, Academic Strategy, Sungard Higher Education; professor emeritus of mathematics at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (UNC); co-founding board member on the boards of the National Center for Academic Transformation and the Alliance for Higher Education Competitiveness.

Prof. Dr. Jan de Groof, Belgium
President of the "European Association for Education Law and Policy"; Professor at the College of Europe (Bruges, Belgium) and at the University of Tilburg (the Netherlands); Government Commissioner for Universities (Belgium, Flemish Community); UNESCO Chargé de Mission

Mr. Mark W. Harris, U.S.A.
President & Chief Executive Officer, ELS Language Centers; President of ELS Educational Services Inc.; Executive Vice President of Benesse Holdings, Inc.  Previously he served as an Executive Vice President of Berlitz International, Inc. of Benesse Corp.

Mr. Richard A. Hesel, U.S.A.
Senior Partner and Principal, Art & Science Group, LLC; President, North America Region, China America University-School Alliance (CAN-USA)

Dr. Se Ung Lee, Republic of Korea

Chairman and CEO, Shin IL Corporation and Shin IL Educational Foundation; chairman of the Board of Trustees of Seoul Cyber University; chairman of the Board of Directors of the Seoul Arts Center and the Korea National Ballet Company; former vice president of the Korean National Red Cross; and former board chairman of Sookmyung Women’s University. Lee has contributed to the work of the IAUP since the early 1990s.

Prof. Dr. Ir. André Oosterlinck, Belgium
President-chairman University of Leuven Network (K.U.Leuven Association); Honorary rector K.U. Leuven; Past-Chairman of the Coimbra Group of universities (the 32 oldest universities in Europe); Dr. Oosterlinck has published more than 300 articles in scientific journals and proceedings, and possesses several patents.

Dr. James Garner Ptaszynski, U.S.A.
Senior Director, World Wide Higher Education, Microsoft Corporation; past Associate Dean at the Graduate School of Management at Wake Forest University; Ptaszynski has served on the U.S. Secretary of Education’s Commission on the Future of Higher Education (Spellings Commission), the Middle East Institute for Higher Education as well as many other taskforces and as a trusted advisor to numerous educational organizations.

Dr. David F. Raney, U.S.A.
CEO, Nuventive; Dr. Raney had been involved in business creation since completing formal medical training. He has led large organizations, providing both operational and strategic leadership. Dr. Raney served in the leadership positions of both Chief Resident and Chief Fellow.

Dr. Jose Ramos-Horta, East Timor
President of East Timor; Nobel Peace Prize Laureate, 1996; former prime minister, founder and former member of the Revolutionary Front for an Independent East Timor; former minister of external relations and information and permanent representative to the United Nations. Ramos-Horta has been a speaker and participant at IAUP events.

H.E. Fidel V. Ramos, Philippines
Former president of the Philippines; key contributor to the association of South East Asian Nations (ASEAN); founder of the Ramos Foundation for Peace and Development, Inc.; co-founder and current chairman of the Board of Directors for the Boao Forum for Asia; and chairman of the Global Meeting of Emerging Markets Forum.

Professor Teiichi Sato, Japan
Senior Advisor for Academic Affairs, International University of Health and Welfare; Honorary Executive Director, Tokyo National Museum; Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary to UNESCO (2003-2006)

Dr. Shuzaburo Takeda, Japan
President of Takeda & Associates and Executive Director of The Business-University Forum of Japan since it was founded in 1992. He is also an advisor to the Office of the President as well as a Professor of Social System Intelligence Laboratory at Waseda University.

Ms. Pamela Tate, U.S.A.
President and CEO, CAEL

H.E. Dr. João Sebastião Teta, Angola
State Secretary of Science and Technology of Angola; past Rector of the University Agostinho Neto, Angola; past President of the Association of Portuguese Language Universities (AULP).
International Association of University Presidents
809 United Nations Plaza
New York, NY 10017-3580

ukash haber seo seo seo google sıra bulucu google sıra bulucu kanun kanun kanun script encode decode script encode decode guvenli ukash sitesi